Planning & Development

Department of Planning & Development, Town Hall

25 Green Street
Ipswich, MA 01938
Phone: (978) 356-6607 | Fax: 978-356-6682

The Department of Planning & Development guides the development and conservation of land in Ipswich via the regulatory process, the preparation and implementation of long-range plans, and by providing support and guidance to the following boards and commissions: Agricultural Commission, Affordable Housing Partnership, Affordable Housing Trust Fund Board, Community Development Plan Implementation Task Force, Conservation Commission, Design Review Board, Historical Commission, Open Space Committee, Planning Board and the Zoning Board of Appeals.


Department Divisions

Affordable Housing Conservation
Open Space Planning
ZBA Administration  





Department Staff

Glenn Gibbs, Planning Director

Ethan Parsons, Senior Planner

Terry Anderson, Affordable Housing Coordinator

Open Space Program Manager (currently vacant)

Beth O'Connor, Open Space Stewardship Coordinator

Marie Rodgers, Administrative Assistant to the Zoning Board of Appeals

Alicia Geilan, Conservation Agent

Gail Surpitski, Planning and Conservation Assistant


Navigating the Town's permitting process: Development Guidebook

Reports & Other Documents: Regulations, Reports and Studies, Community Development Plan, Amendments to the Plan and the Town Character Statement.

NEW: Ipswich Wayfinding Initiative Final Report


Title Filter     Display # 
Article Title
Ipswich Wayfinding Initiative Final Report
Department Overview
Openspace Guidelines
What is the Conservation Commission and who are its members?
Regulations & Application Forms
Ipswich Community Development Plan
Design Review Board
Community Development Plan Implementation Task Force